The Corpus of Historical Low German (CHLG) is a project to create a treebank of the Middle Low German (MLG) and Old Low German (Old Saxon) languages. While the Old Saxon part was released in the form of the HeliPaD (Walkden 2016), the MLG part, built with generous funding (nearly € 400,000) from the Hercules foundation (2014-2015, grant number AUGE 13/02) and the Flemish research foundation FWO (2015-2020, grant number G0F2614N), and released in December 2020.

Both parts of the CHLG are tagged for parts of speech and syntactically annotated (parsed). The HeliPaD follows the standards of the Penn Corpora of Historical English in both POS-tagging and parsing (cf. Walkden 2016). The MLG part of the CHLG adds syntactic annotation following, but adapting (cf. Booth et al. subm.), the Penn standards to a strategic selection of texts from the DFG-funded project Referenzkorpus Mittelniederdeutsch / Niederrheinisch (1200-1650) (ReN), with which we have been allowed to co-operate on the parts of speech and morphological tagging of a number of texts. Due to this collaboration, the parts of speech are tagged using the HiNTS tagset (Barteld et al. 2018).


Barteld, Fabian, Sarah Ihden, Katharina Dreessen & Ingrid Schröder. 2018. HiNTS: A Tagset for Middle Low German. Proceedings of the Eleventh International Conference on Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC 2018), Miyazaki, Japan. European Language Resources Association (ELRA).

Booth, Hannah M., Anne Breitbarth, Aaron Ecay & Melissa Farasyn. (2020). A Penn-style Treebank of Middle Low GermanProceedings of the 12th Conference on Language Resources and Evaluation (LREC 2020): 766–75.

Walkden, George. 2016. The HeliPaD: a parsed corpus of Old Saxon. International Journal of Corpus Linguistics 21(4): 559-571.



We would like to thank the following organizations and individuals for their support and advice:

  • The Referenzkorpus Mittelniederdeutsch/Niederrheinisch project team
    • Christian Fischer, Norbert Nagel and Robert Peters (Universität Münster)
    • Ingrid Schröder, Sarah Ihden, Katharina Dreessen, Fabian Barteld (Universität Hamburg)
  • University of Cambridge
  • Universiteit Gent
  • University of Manchester
  • Our former research assistants: Julia Kolkmann (Manchester), James Cormack, Jamie Douglas, Helen Etheridge, Elaine Oliver, Claire Richardson, Sophie Shephard, Sadie Smith (Cambridge)
  • David Willis (University of Cambridge), Luc de Grauwe (Universiteit Gent), Joel Wallenberg (University of Newcastle), Kersti Börjars (University of Manchester), Susan Pintzuk and Ann Taylor (University of York)
  • The various funding bodies (Sheila Watts: Newton Trust, British Academy Small Research Grant; Anne Breitbarth: FWO post-doctoral fellowship 2012-2015 and Hercules/FWO grant 2014-now; George Walkden: AHRC, University of Manchester)